Malik Hamm


Hamm Named Patriot League Football Rookie of the Year

Leopards Land 10 Places on All-Patriot League Teams

EASTON, Pa. – Freshman DE Malik Hamm (Baltimore, Md./City College) has been named the Patriot League Rookie of the Year. Hamm also garnered All-Patriot League Second-Team honors as one of 10 conference selections.
Hamm played in 11 games with nine starts in his initial season on College Hill and had a major impact, leading the team with in tackles for loss (15-59) and sacks (8.5-46) while finishing fourth on the team in tackles (58), despite drawing increased scrutiny and double teams. Hamm finished second in the Patriot League and 18th in the FCS in sacks (0.77/game) and third in the Patriot League and 27th in the FCS in tackles for loss (1.4/game).
Hamm is the first Leopard to win the conference's Rookie of the Year award since Ross Scheuerman and Jamel Smith won it consecutively in 2011 and 2012. This season, Hamm was one of just two freshmen to earn All-Patriot League laurels.
Senior linebacker Jerry Powe (Gurnee, Ill./Warren Township) was the team's lone representative on the All-Patriot League First-Team defense. The Leopard captain finished with 67 tackles, five TFL, 2.5 sacks and two forced fumbles. A four-year starter, Powe was a Second-Team selection in 2016 and 2017 and is one of 17 players in Lafayette history to achieve All-Patriot League status three times.
Fellow captain C.J. Amill (Youngstown, Ohio/Cardinal Mooney) joins Powe as a three-time All-Patriot League honoree. Amill was named the first-team return specialist and second-team running back in 2018 after securing All-Patriot League First Team honors as a return specialist in 2017.
Amill averaged 20.8 yards per kick return while splitting time with J.J. Younger. He also returned 12 punts for the Leopards, averaging 6.6 yards per attempt. On the offensive side of things, Amill was the Leopards' leading rushing, churning out 431 yards on 97 carries with four touchdowns while also catching 15 passes.
Senior fullback Will Eisler (Scarsdale, N.Y./Scarsdale) is a repeat winner on the All-Patriot League First-Team (2017). Eisler was a receiving target out of the backfield, catching nine balls for 52 yards and a touchdown and was a key run blocker and pass protector.
Junior tackle Jake Marotti (Baden, Pa./Ambridge) rounds out the Leopards' All-Patriot League First-Team honorees. Marotti has started every game the last two seasons, playing all 11 at left tackle in 2018. He was part of an offensive line that led the Patriot League in sacks allowed and tackles for loss allowed
Marotti's line mate, senior center Kevin Zataveski (Delran, N.J./Delran), earned an All-Patriot League Second-Team selection. The team captain started the final eight games of the season after an injury kept him on the sideline to open the season. The Leopards doubled their rushing total per game when Zataveski was in the lineup (101.6) compared to the three games he missed (49.0).
One of the team's top playmakers, junior wide receiver Nick Pearson (Mason, Ohio/Mason) secured, Second-Team recognition. Pearson was quarterback Sean O'Malley's favorite target for a second-straight season, making 41 catches for 592 yards.
Fellow junior Yasir Thomas (Paterson, N.J./Pasaic Tech) earned second-team honors at defensive back. The Leopards' strong safety started 10 games and finished sixth on the team in tackles (48). He had one interception and was third on the team with seven pass breakups.
Finishing off Lafayette's All-Patriot League Second-Team selections is senior linebacker  Michael Root (New Canaan, Conn./New Canaan). Root was a consistent performer in his final season, leading the team with 73 tackles. Root played in 45 games in his career with 32 starts at linebacker over five seasons.
Patriot League champion Colgate led the way with 19 All-Patriot League selections and added Offensive Player of the Year (James Holland, Sr. RB), Defensive Player of the Year (T.J. Holl, Sr. LB) and Coach of the Year (Dan Hunt) honors. Lafayette had 10 All-League selections followed by Fordham, Georgetown and Holy Cross with six apiece, Bucknell (5) and Lehigh (4).
Print Friendly Version

Players Mentioned